Skip to main content
Front view of the Capitol

Carl Cosponsors Bipartisan Legislation to Allow Unspent COVID Relief Dollars for Infrastructure

October 27, 2021

Carl Cosponsors Bipartisan Legislation to Allow Unspent COVID Relief Dollars for Infrastructure

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Jerry Carl (R-Mobile) issued the following statement regarding his cosponsorship of the State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial Fiscal Recovery, Infrastructure, and Disaster Relief Flexibility Act, to make various infrastructure investments eligible for payment with unspent COVID-19 relief funds. The legislation recently passed the U.S. Senate unanimously. This legislation, which was introduced yesterday by U.S. Reps. Dusty Johnson (R-SD) and Carolyn Bourdeaux (D-GA), would give state and local officials additional flexibility and time to responsibly spend remaining COVID-19 relief dollars received from the American Rescue Plan Act and the original CARES Act relief package.

South Alabama has a desperate need for investments in true infrastructure such as roads, bridges, ports, waterways, and broadband. As a former county commissioner, investing in our nation’s infrastructure is a top priority for me, so I’m proud to cosponsor this bipartisan bill to give states like Alabama the flexibility they need to spend unused COVID-19 relief dollars on critical investments in our nation’s infrastructure.

Unfortunately, Nancy Pelosi is holding the American people hostage by blocking this bill from being considered on the House floor. Despite passing the U.S. Senate unanimously and being introduced in the House by a large, bipartisan group, Nancy Pelosi is focused on raising our taxes, bankrupting America, and playing political games. It’s time to put the American people first and pass this bipartisan, commonsense bill.

This legislation is cosponsored by Reps. Steve Scalise (R-LA-01), Henry Cuellar (D-TX-28), Rick Allen (R-GA-12), Suzan DelBene (D-WA-01), David Rouzer (R-NC-07), Marilyn Strickland (D-WA-10), Randy K. Weber (R-TX-14), Jared Huffman (D-CA-02), Steven Palazzo (R-MS-04), Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (D-GA-02), Andy Barr (R-KY-06), Joseph Morelle (D-NY-25), Dan Meuser (R-PA-09), Albio Sires (D-NJ-08), Carlos A. Gimenez (R-FL-26), Antonio Delgado (D-NY-19), David B. McKinley, P.E. (R-WV-01), Kim Schrier, M.D. (D-WA-08), Peter Meijer (R-MI-03), Darren Soto (D-FL-09), Jerry Carl (R-AL-01), Chris Pappas (D-NH-01), Rick Crawford (R-AR-01), Betty McCollum (D-MN-04), William Timmons (R-SC-04), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ-05), Brad Wenstrup (R-OH-02), Derek Kilmer (D-WA-06), Don Young (R-AK), and Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ-01).

The bill can be read here and more information about the bill can be read here.

Congressman Carl’s office can be reached at 202-225-4931.

To find out more about Jerry Carl, visit his website or follow him on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @RepJerryCarl.